Any trick in getting plug wires off? (96, V6) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Any trick in getting plug wires off? (96, V6)

Flye

Reaction score
City, State
Virginia Beach, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
I've got 163k on same (original) spark plugs and wires. I've gone to the "easy" plug and can NOT get the plug wire off, so I can't imagine what the hard access plugs would be like? I do a fair amount of "maintenance" work, including some fairly decent muscle car restoration so I'm not a total beginner, but for the life of me, I can't get the plug wire off. Before I snap the wire or break the ceramic, I thought I'd ask if I'm missing something simple about the plug wire, or the "snap fit" that perhaps I'm not doing or didn't know. And I've even tried one of those useless NAPA plug wire removal tools, which would probably work if the motor was on an engine stand.

'96 stock, V-6, 4WD

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Flye said:
I've got 163k on same (original) spark plugs and wires. I've gone to the "easy" plug and can NOT get the plug wire off, so I can't imagine what the hard access plugs would be like? I do a fair amount of "maintenance" work, including some fairly decent muscle car restoration so I'm not a total beginner, but for the life of me, I can't get the plug wire off. Before I snap the wire or break the ceramic, I thought I'd ask if I'm missing something simple about the plug wire, or the "snap fit" that perhaps I'm not doing or didn't know. And I've even tried one of those useless NAPA plug wire removal tools, which would probably work if the motor was on an engine stand.

'96 stock, V-6, 4WD

Thanks.