axle swap question

SplendidSquid

Reaction score
City, State
New Cumberland, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport Trac
greetings and salutations!
ive been browsing around here for a bit since i bought my 2001 Sport Trac, 4.0L, 4WD. i have some moderate plans for. i would really like to rebuild the rear axle, and being that its a daily driver i need to build a separate axle to swap.
so my question is. what vehicles can i get an axle from? i believe mine came with an 8.8 with 3.73lsd gears. (looks like at some point someone swapped another axle in) next question is if i get an 8.8 with disc brakes can that be swapped in pretty easy? third question is i have ABS how will that work with an axle swap with disc brakes? i assume if it has the differential speed sensor it should all be fine and well...

Id like a pretty simple swap. no cutting and welding mounts. all the internal stuff i can do. just cant weld.... yet.
thanks for the help guys.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You can use an 8.8 from a '95-01 Explorer four door or two door (newer models have disc brakes, I have an 8.8 from a '99 Mercury Mountaineer), '97-01 Mercury Mountaineer and '01-03 Explorer Sport. As far as matching the gears with the front 3.73's in your rig you'd have to check the tag on the axle or the door tag on the donor vehicle to make sure it has 3.73's. It's bolt in and go for the most part.

Midnight covered it. Find one from a donor explorer, make sure it has 3.73 gears and swap in.
You need to match gears in the front in order to use 4wd and the cost to regear will far outweigh the price of waiting and finding a donor axle that has the correct gearing just as a heads up. Most regearing costs over $1000 at a shop.