Changing to double din dvd on 2002 xlt | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Changing to double din dvd on 2002 xlt

Hi, Ex04 any info or advise will help. I'm new at this high tech stuff.

Thanks..

heres what i did. My camera is mounted right above the hitch. To run the wire you open up the back hatch and pull up the carpet a little. You should than see a rubber gromet on the left side. If you pull that out you can see under the car. Mount your camera and run your wires along the bumper into the hole and from there run them along the floor. If you pull up the kick panels by the doors you will see a large wire harness, just run it along side that up to the drivers seat into your head unit. Let me know if you need any help. I dont know how you're doing your wiring, but your head unit should have a wire marked reverse cam.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Ex04
The location just above the hitch sounds the easiest wiring path by far. The issue I have is I drive most of the time with Tow hitch fitted. Therefor I would think this would obstruct the camara vision. I will have a closer look.

Do you have a camara type recommendation. There is many to chiose from on E-bay.

Ex04
The location just above the hitch sounds the easiest wiring path by far. The issue I have is I drive most of the time with Tow hitch fitted. Therefor I would think this would obstruct the camara vision. I will have a closer look.

Do you have a camara type recommendation. There is many to chiose from on E-bay.