• Register Today It's free!

Coolant leak

Stephen25

Reaction score
City, State
Chelmsford Ma
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Mountaineer
I have a 99 mountaineer it was leaking coolant off and on during the winter and i put stop leak in it ive been meaning to do a flush to clean it out and today when i got home it was leaking again but from like the middle of the motor maybe where the exhaust is or right above it, right above where the motor sits on the big cross bar of the frame, im new at this stuff do what i can to fix what i can what could it be and what would it cost to fix,

when i take cap of radiator it stops leaking (while its running)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Step 1 is to figure out where it is leaking from. After that, we can better tell you how serious of a repair it is. When the vehicle is hot and the cap is installed, the system is pressurized so you will have the most leakage at that time. A pressure tester is ideal since you can pressurize the system when cold. You can then inspect the engine without worry of moving parts or getting burned.

Coolant leaks can be tricky. I had slow a leak coming from the timing cover at the front of the engine, but it was dripping off onto the floor from the rear of the engine if you can believe it. It took me a while to find it. The engine fan blowing air and the hot exhaust pipes can add complication as well.

X2 on coolant dripping from the rear, with the source being the timing cover seal. In my case, it ran along the pan lip.
To the OP: it helps to identify your engine when posting a question here.