Fuel Pressure (and other) problems | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Fuel Pressure (and other) problems

lloydfarmer

Reaction score
City, State
Charlotte, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 v8 Mountaineer
First time poster, so I hope it's in the right place. I bought a 2000 v8 Mountaineer, and I’ve been going through some maintenance but have a problem I can’t quite find the answer to. I’ve been searching and using these forums to perform the work I’ve already done because I’m pretty new to this and trying to learn. I want to thank any of you who have posted “how to’s” because they have already helped me do things I never thought I could do.

My main issue right now is that I have to crank the engine for several seconds (4 or more) before the Mounty will start. The shop (one I normally trust) told me it was the check valve on the fuel pump. I put in a new Delphi fuel pump, assembly and filter, and it didn't fix the problem. If I do a key on/engine off about 4 times to build up pressure it will generally start right up.

Other issues:

The idle begins loping after about a minute when cold, continues up and down for a couple minutes, then settles and runs and idles fine after it warms and I start driving. There is a tapping noise that starts about a minute after start up that seems to come from the top of the engine but I haven’t put a stethoscope on it yet. The tapping quiets to where I don’t notice it at idle after the car warms up. Once running, the car seems to run great, no noticeable issues. The check engine light is on and Autozone pulled two lean codes, one for each bank.

Work done: