Got a 94 XLT 4x4 want to get it ready for off-roading! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Got a 94 XLT 4x4 want to get it ready for off-roading!

agordon

Reaction score
City, State
Centreville, VA.
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT
Hi Everyone,

I just signed up here on the forum and I have some questions...

Here's my situation: I enjoy off-roading with friends and I want to get my own off-road vehicle set up. My Fiancee has a 94 Ford Explorer XLT 4x4 AUTO with high mileage (124k). I originally thought about picking up a jeep, but I think a better thing to do would be to take over her truck and mod it out.. I am an electrical engineer and have beginner level mechanic skills. So...

I was wondering what the "essential mods" for heavy off-roading are and approx. how much they will cost. In other words.. what do I need to do to get this truck ready to hit the trails?

I appreciate any help you guys can provide!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Ditch the auto hubs for manuals. Autos break and leave you stranded when you need them most. Lockers front and rear will help alot, and of course some form of a lift should be used for more clearance, whether it be a body or suspension lift. Depending on what you want to wheel will ultimatly depend on what you will need to equip yourself with.

Do some lurking on this site Aaron. There's a million ways to go. But be honest with yourself. How much 4 wheeling are you gonna do? What kind of 4 wheeling? Are you going to be happy with just a little modification or are you gonna tear it out and upgrade in 6 months? Then see what other people are up to. There's the whole range here on the site.

How much will I offroad and what will I do?