Modifications to go off road | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Modifications to go off road

Reaction score
City, State
Canberra, Australia
Year, Model & Trim Level
XLT V8 - 2003 model
Folks, I've have just purchased myself a new 2003 Ford Explorer, V8, XLT and am looking to set the car up to go off road.

She is a bit thirsty on the fuel so I want to put in 2 40L tanks under the car to increase the fuel to 160L.

Want to install a dual battery system - probably going to put the 2nd batter in the back (appropriately stored) as there is not a lot of room under the bonnet.

Looking to put a cargo barrier and shelves in the back as well.

Any comments, opinions or clues would be greatly appreciated.

Love the car !!!!

Louise.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Although I have little knowledge of the 3rd generation Explorer I doubt you will be able to add a second gas tank under your X. It may be possible to have a custom tank made to fit but this will be pricey. Another alternative would be to mount a roof rack (basket) on top of your X and carry additional fuel cans in it.

The stock battery used in the explorer is rather large. It may be possible to mount two Optmia batteries in the stock location, with a little effort. I wouln't recomend mounting a battery in the passennger compartment. Batteries emit toxic gasses while they are being chaged. There are batteries with special vents in them that are designed to be mounted in the trunk of a vehicle, but if I were you, I'd try to figure out a way to mount te battery under the hood. You'll be much happier.

As for the cargo barrier, try Explorer Express (watch for their ad at the top of the page).

Louise,