Guess what I have timing chain rattle! Lol | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Guess what I have timing chain rattle! Lol

Kodiak43351

Reaction score
City, State
NW Ohio
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 explorer
Quick question I have the kit ordered along with the otc kit. I want to get started but was wondering if after you get motor to tdc did you install crank holding tool when you removed balancer? Or can I just bring it to tdc and impact bolt out and remove balancer with proper puller and hold balancer somehow? How did you guys hold it should I wait for kit or is that just for timing after I get the job done. I was a mechanic for 10+ years as a Chrysler tech and ASE certified. I been in a diff career since 07 (more money) but have worked on fords but don't remember ever working on this sohc 4.0l. Any tips before I begin would be great oh yea I also ordered the Haynes manual and got it today but not real clear on the balancer. I've R&R many balancers but can I get it on tdc and remove balancer then cover and then bring it back to TDC if it moves. I guess this wasn't a quick question lol. Thanks for any replies.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

flimsy holder

In my opinion the crankshaft holder in the OTC 6488 timing tool kit is too flimsy to use for loosening and tightening the harmonic balancer retaining bolt.

Many members have broken the harmonic balancer puller bolts when trying to extract the balancer. A standard puller presses against the puller instead of the crankshaft because of the small diameter of the balancer bore. I suggest that you read thru my helpful threads about removing the balancer and timing the camshafts. If you PM me your email address I'll send you a copy of the engine assembly instructions that include use of the timing tool kit.