Hey, its a newbie already asking questions! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hey, its a newbie already asking questions!

Rickles5

Reaction score
City, State
Goodwater/Alexander City, AL
Year, Model & Trim Level
93 Eddie B.
:exp: Well hello Guys and Gals, I am a newbie to off-roading in a 4x, I have been the atc, atv and the ol' "2 wheeler guy for years. I have discovered when the whole family wants to hit the trails its quiet hard to pile Wife and Kids on so I guess more of my off-road time will now change to using a 4 door:) I am pretty auto savy, but do not know too much about where to look or how to do some very inexspensive (I mean poor Alabama boy) suspension and/or body mods/lifts to make ol' eddie more off road capable. I would love to throw some 33x12.50's under it, but gotta think dollars and I do drive it 250-300 miles a week when its non-biker weather. I am open to sugguestions! thanks!!

Rickles5

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome, im sure you will find this group very helpful,
I suggest you check this thread to decide what type of lift(s) you want to do: http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=67200
Then just search for whatever type of lift using the search feature at the top of the page.

Also If you are going for economy I would suggest looking into shackles/leafsprings(for the back), and a body lift(all around). Im not sure what you would do in the front of a 93, I believe they have coil springs?

i just came across this thread in my bookmarks and thought it might do you some good:
Body lifts are OK. A lot of people don't like them -- mainly because you put more stress on the body mounts by raising them 3" -- especially if you have rusted out truck -- but mine worked great for years of wheeling.