Idle Air Control Questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Idle Air Control Questions

in_garage

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 and 1996 XLT
Hi. I'm a newbie to this forum but since I have a 95 and 96 Explorer I ought to get involved. I suspect my Idle Air Control Valve is bad and am wondering if anybody has had good luck with any inexpensive IACs? I see Duralast that Autozone sells is a lot less than Motorcraft.

Related question is, does anybody know the difference is between the Motorcraft CX1846 and CX1845 which is a lot more expensive? They look the same. Normally I like OE branded parts but I might be selling one or both of these trucks soon so maybe cheap is OK....

FYI I suspect the valve because I did a SeaFoam TB cleaning including cleaning the plunger area of the IAC. I heard back when I was a BG chemical rep to idle the vehicles quite a while after performing a TB cleaning through the intake, to make residual chemical go away because some IACs motors don't like chemicals. Anyway the result was a low idle and the truck will sometimes stall at a stop. I did a MAF sensor cleaning at the same time.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The difference I see on Rockauto pics is CX1845 has a different connector with an interior side key slot and a latch tab on the opposite side.
F5TZ9F715AA-FRO__ra_p.jpg

http://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=382795&jsn=3

CX1846 has more rounded connector corners, 3 exterior side keys and a different latch on the wider side:
F5TZ9F715BA-BAC__ra_p.jpg

http://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=382796

I don't know how well seafoam does cleaning those but would try cleaning it again with spray carb or intake cleaner.