Need advice on new Sport Purchase | Page 3 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need advice on new Sport Purchase

So break in period 1000 miles? I guess I should take it easy until then. Anyone here running the Livernois tuner on their 16 yet? I think we may get that in a few months.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Is this fact? I have never heard of a traction control system limiting power just by being on, provided there's no traction issues. Please explain further.

I should have said for the feel of more power. Traction control limits your launch. Also, I am no expert on it, but I believe with it off, it adjusts the torque curve and puts more power to the rear. Either way, it is definitely a quicker vehicle with it off. And then even more so in sand mode (no high gear tho)

So break in period 1000 miles? I guess I should take it easy until then. Anyone here running the Livernois tuner on their 16 yet? I think we may get that in a few months.

Break in is 1000 miles. Everyone has their own opinions on this, but during that time I varied my speeds to better set the rings. Also, get to about 70 and let off the throttle completely to about 40 a couple times to get oil over the heads. As soon as I hit 1500 miles or so, I gave it it's first oil change and started running high quality full synthetic oil in there, most conducive to the high temps/pressures the ecoboost creates. Everyone has their opinions, but I run Pennzoil Platinum, which has more anti wear additives better suited for high pressure motors like the EB. I also run nothing but top tier fuels.