New guy to the forums, lifelong Ford guy though | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New guy to the forums, lifelong Ford guy though

Fords & .45's

Reaction score
City, State
Headed to NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 CVPI, 96 F150, 88 BII
Okay, so here goes:

I am an ASE certified technician, recent college grad (went back as an adult for a second go-round heh), Army vet, and my two main hobbies are cars and guns. I have been into Fords since I was 10 at a car show and a cherry 1970 Boss 429 Mustang idled by. I was instantly hooked. I have had more Broncos (3), Bronco IIs (6) and F150s (5) than any other vehicle. I have had Mustangs, Thunderbirds, a Ranger, a Crown Vic Interceptor, an Areostar at one point, and even a Taurus SHO. I have had one Explorer, a '98 5.0 AWD that got me through a couple of rough North Dakota winters.

I HAVE had other types of vehicles, but we won't admit to any of those here.:D

My current interest is in customizing and modifying vehicles. To that end, I am looking at taking an Explorer Sport, doing a full top removal (no half cab), reinforcing the body, putting a 5.0 into it, and maybe lifting it a bit as well.

To that end, I am doing research on trying to figure out which years/gen of 2-door Sport would be the best one to operate on. I have already eliminated the 3rd gen because I just don't like the lines or the changes that Ford did to make them more car-like. I was going to post this last bit/question in a different section, but since they are split in the years I wouldn't want to double post. Hopefully some folks will have some insight and will be generous with their knowledge. And please, don't do the whole "search" thing, fellas. I AM searching, but it never hurts to ask directly as well while I'm doing the digging.

Have a good evening, all and thanks for setting up this community!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.