New here from Canada

apuszczalowski

Reaction score
City, State
Welland, Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Explorer Sport
Just thought I would introduce myself

My name is Andrew, I'm from Southern Ontario (just outside of Buffalo). I am new to the "Explorer scene" and new to Fords all together. I recently bought a '99 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0L SOHC to replace my daily driver '98 Dodge Dakota 2wd single cab pickup. I wanted something with 4wd due to the weather I can encounter driving in to work, and something with more room to put my stuff in without having to leave my gear open in the bed, or stuffed in the cab with me. I am a Jeep guy and originally picked up a v8 Grand Cherokee to replace the truck but it ended up having a blown transmission and I ran out of time to replace it in the nice weather (no garage to work in :(:mad: ) so I started looking for something else and stumbled upon the explorer.

I picked it up cheap at a small used car dealership cause the engine had a rattle noise that they took to Ford and had them look at it and they said its a noisey/sticky lifter/valve.

Since buying this truck just before christmas, I changed the thermostat, and plan to fix the rattle noise when the weather gets warmer. As of now my plan is to drive it for the winter and decide in the summer/fall weither to keep it as a DD or get something else.

Future plans are to get better then 15mpg doing mostly highway driving, and probably put on a cold air intake with a new muffler (I think the muffler is starting to go). After that I would love to have the overhead info centre display and the message centre, but don't know if its worth the effort to swap in.

I have one other vehicle at the moment that I have big plans for once I can sell my house and get one with a garage, I plan on stripping down and rebuilding a 1987 Jeep YJ and putting it up on 35's. I have most of the parts to do it, just don't have the space out of the weather.