• Register Today It's free!

Newbie question about towing

greg762

Reaction score
City, State
Vancouver, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 XLT
My 2001 XLT V6 4x4 Explorer came with the "Towing Package", which includes a different axle ratio and a little bag of parts. When I bought the truck I never in my life thought I'd need to tow anything, but I've been looking at boats lately and...well, you get the idea. Besides having a hitch installed, what else would I need to do to this vechicle to get it ready for towing? The weight of the boat & trailer would be in the neighborhood of 3000-4000lbs. Do the 2001 Explorers w/towing package have transmission oil coolers, or do I need to have one installed? I saw two little radiator-like devices (aside from the main radiator) when I slid under the front of the truck today but aren't sure what they're for exactly. Any recommendations for type & brand of trailer hitch? I'm new to trucks and 4x4's and I really appreciate any advice you can give. Thanks,

Greg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

yeah the towing package includes the aux trans cooler.

i dont have any recommendations for hitches, just get a good class III hitch.

Greg,

Walmart sold me a Reese class III hitch for about 100 bucks. Installed it myself easily in about an hour. (Tip) lower the spare tire to install the hitch. You should have got an electrical pigtail with the truck when you bought it. plug in the electric and you are ready to go. If you go to get the same hitch installed it's about 200 bucks.

Good Luck,
Mike

if you're going to tow anything less than 3000 lbs, the rear bumper with just a ball on it works good. ive used the rear bumper for my 2000 lb Sea Pro. if you're gonna get something like this, save yourself the $$ by not buying a hitch and get you some good fishing rods.