Question relating with Mufflers | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Question relating with Mufflers

V8Limited

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 Limited
I have a question hopefully you guys can answer. I am not experienced with any sort of muffler or exhaust type stuff at all. When you take your car to a shop to cut off the stock muffler and put on the aftermarket muffler, do they get rid of the stock pipe or do they weld it back on? Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

They use the stock pipe. They just cut your old muffler off and put the new one in its place. What are you going with?

My shop took off everything from the cats back, put the new muffler in, and custom made a new tailpipe. They even welded a crome tip on it. I think most shops can do it but it is alot more expensive then just swaping out the muffler.

Ah, thanks. I'm going with the Flowmaster 40 Series muffler. I just gotta wait a bit more and then I'm gonna order it and take it to a shop. Any muffler tips you guys recommend? I was looking at Magnaflow because I can get them for a good deal on cardomain.com and there good quality.

Ah, thanks. I'm going with the Flowmaster 40 Series muffler. I just gotta wait a bit more and then I'm gonna order it and take it to a shop. Any muffler tips you guys recommend? I was looking at Magnaflow because I can get them for a good deal on cardomain.com and there good quality.

yea use ur stock pipe and cut the pipe where it makes the turn to go straight back and weld a tip there... i put a magnaflow comming out the back diagonally... sounds great and looks good.. make sure u get the offset inlet and the center outlet... if u get a center inlet it mite be rite against ur frame

flowmaster delta 40....
2456765_31_full.jpg