• Register Today It's free!

serious a4ld problem...help!

jake the snake

Reaction score
City, State
Louisiana
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 XLT 4x4 4.0/SOHC
I am not a mechanic, I have never worked on a transmission before. I need advice and help. A few weeks ago, my transmission started acting up. after it got warm it would only want to start in 2nd gear. If I floored it, first gear would engage, but only then. I had it looked at by aamco, they told me it might be the modulator. That same day, another problem started. While driving in D or OD, and accelerating through the gears, the trans would disengage after 2nd gear, just making the engine rev up like the truck is in neutral. I am losing fluid, somebody told me it is being sucked into the vacuum line that goes to the manifold. What the heck is going on? Is it the modulator? Has anyone heard of this before?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

good luck

My trans has been rebuilt 5 times in the last 5 years...and that's been the symptoms most times. Last thing that was done was the governor i think...good luck cause it cost me $1300...

Glacier knows his A4LD like the back of his hand. As a matter of fact, he includes a few pics of the back of his hand on his A4LD rebuild ; )
You can trust him.

Thank you for the kind words Rocco.