Speaker Size in '95 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Speaker Size in '95

Reaction score
City, State
Durham, CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 XLT 4X4
Hi guys I was wondering what the speaker size for the front/rear speakers are in my '95 XLT 4-door.. i wasnt sure if this should go here or in the general one but i figure here cause i wanna put a nice stereo in.. im not sure on what exactly, i want some decent speakers that have good high volume quality, and that dont blow to easily.. looking to spend oh roughly $500 or less on the 4 speakers.. any suggestions? also i didnt just pull off the door panels and look because i have had some VERY bad experiences with 'ghetto' (you could call it) car stereo installations,also I was thinking about having someone who actually knows what they're doing install it. thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

6X8 are a direct bolt in or you can use 6X9 also....
i replacd all 4 on my 1995. farily easy...

I bought 6X8 Pioneer..

www.crutchfield.com -- put in your information and they'll tell you. But I believe it's 6x8. More than often, when you turn up the head unit and the speakers start to sound like they're gonna fade (if these are stock speakers) its usually because the stock speakers can't handle the power of the head unit. I would get an aftermarket head unit (good range for H.U.'s are 27x4RMS is a good head unit - Panasonic makes one that handles 60 watts RMS) and door speakers (door speakers should range from 35-60 watts RMS). Good luck

-Drew

thanks for the info.
currently i dont have anything installed (no head unit) and i really wasnt planning on it (i have the 6-cd changer and its good), but will i need to? id think that stock HU would work with the new speakers.
thanks again! now i can go price speakers.... :)