Towing with a '99 Explorer XLT in '10 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Towing with a '99 Explorer XLT in '10

Hello--

Newbie here, 1st post, longtime admirer of this site.

I have a '99 Explorer XLT without a trailer hitch (or any other components of the towing package as far as I know). It has 95,000 miles.

I am thinking about getting a trailer hitch installed and using it to tow a Coleman pop-up camper (2500 lbs) to our camp in Maine. The route involves some hilly terrain as I have to cross parts of the Green and White mountains in Vermont and NH, resp. In the past, we have used my wife's car, Dodge Caravan, and have had no real problems, although it has labored recently.

Question: Given it has never towed before, it's age and mileage, is it reasonable to do this ? Or, am I asking for it's quicker demise ?

Also: If I do install the hitch, do I go ahead and install the other components of a towing package, i.e., transmission cooler, etc.

Thanks and standing by.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm assuming this is a v6? If so, I'd definitely add the tranny cooler. The transmission is already the weak link in your drivetrain.

Yep, V6.

What do you think ? Is it advisable to tow with an older XLT that has never towed before ? Or is it a non-issue with the tranny cooler ?

You shouldn't have any problem. Your 99 isn't that old. And if a minivan could do it, your ex should do it with ease. A tranny cooler isn't a bad idea, but other than that all you should need is a hitch.