Reaction score
City, State
Kaukauna, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 Mountaineer
newbie here

Just bought a '00 Mountaineer. 69000 miles, all stock
Want to improve MPG.
These are my thoughts, let's see what you think.

Modify the air box for better flow. can be done for under $10.00. Did it to my '02 PT Cruiser. Great results. I have to take a good look at it to see the best way to go about it, but it shouldn't be to difficult.

Cat back exhaust. DIY is cheaper, but maybe a dynomax system from Summit for $215.00 might be a better way to go. I don't want a noisy interior. What do you have?

I'm wondering about the O2 sensor. Truck has 69000 miles and I know the sensor can function w/o tripping the engine light, but not necesarily at optimum performance. What are your thoughts on this? Does it make much difference?

finally plugs and wires. Summit didn't have much available for the Mountaineer in the way of wires. But I have NGK Iridiums in my Cruiser and it really smoothed out the idle which I didn't think was bad in the first place. What are you using?

Has anyone tried indexing the plugs? I did it on my '93 Explorer years ago. I liked the results

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Are you using it for daily driver only? If so I think a underdrive crank pulley and electric cooling fan would help you out.

I think the first question to be asked if you would like worthwhile advice is which engine powers your vehicle. I would advise a bit differently for the three potential options. All have different parts availabilty, and in turn, some items are useless on some of the options. For instance an underdrive pully set on a 4.0 OHV. Hell I think they are close to worthless on the 5.0 'Stang hiding in my garage but at least there you notice them both bad and good.