What oil for my 4.0L | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What oil for my 4.0L

This was 20 - 30 years ago. Back then it was just oil with none of the additives that the major brands had. It was a simple mechanical pump so we surmised that it was a lack of lubrication that took out the pump.

After my Mobile 1 post, I decided to do a little research on it. It did not rank very high on the ball bearing test either. Thinking of switching to AMSOIL.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I’ve used Mobile 1 at 25k intervals on a motor that had over 200k on it. Zero smoke, burned about a quart in the change time, quiet valves, and zero leaks.

I’m sold.

I’ve been using SuperTech oil in all my family’s cars for many years and many many miles without ever an issue or problem. It is manufactured by a high quality leading oil company. independent labs have proven it to be high quality. I am not a sucker to advertising and manufacture‘s claims but rather research the products I use for the highest quality at a reasonable price that have been independently tested and proven. I change oil between 5-7K miles and mostly use Fram filters. I’ve owned Ferraris, Porsches, turbo Land Rovers, Audi, VWs, Corvettes, Toyotas, Fords, GMs, you name it. A true DIY car guy.

You lost all credibility when you said the "F" word...
FRAM

Here is a great educational resource on why one should not use the "F" word...

I've used plain old Havoline conventional 5W-30 oil and Motorcraft filters in my 2002 4.0 since it was new.

It's currently at 327,000 miles. I did replace the timing cassettes at 254,000. It still doesn't lose enough oil in a 5000 mile interval to have to add any.

Hard to beat the price at Walmart for the quality of a Fram UltraGuard or ToughGuard filter.