Will 5R55E valve body/solenoids replace 4R55E? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Will 5R55E valve body/solenoids replace 4R55E?

daisyrocky

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 Ford Explorer
Hi, just spoke to 700tranny in Fla. and tried to order a 4R55E valve body and six solenoids for my 95 Explorer. They said I should put in the 5R55E valve/solenoids because it's updated and that should be the right one instead of the 4R55E VB/solenoids setup. I am ready to place the order but want to hear from you guys first if this is correct and did anyone did this to their Explorer? Thank you.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm no ttranny expert, but the 4r and 5r are very similar.. The only mechanical difference is that the 5r applies the overdrive band for 2nd gear, and all the other gears move up a position.

I'd say it should work. I dont see why it wouldnt..

Thank you sir for the reply. I went ahead and order it.

Not to dig up an old thread but did this work?

The EPC on the 4R55E has a green band filter, and the 5R55E has a red band filter. Both have a different performance curve. The TCC is different as well. The later model solenoids have inductive signature while the old ones don't. There is one hole in the separator plate that is in a different position between the 4R55E & 5R55E. The 4 shift solenoids are the same on both transmissions.