Average age of 5th gen. owners | Page 5 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Average age of 5th gen. owners

44 with '13 Sport.

Met my wife when she had 85 tempo--swore I'd never own another Ford--should never swear!

I have that exact same story. I married my high school sweetheart but waited until I graduated college in 1986. Just before we got married she bought a demo, red, Tempo. It was a tragedy that made me a 'Honda Guy' until '95 when I had to get something that would pull a boat. I haven't driven anything but an Explorer since. My wife and I both have Explorers and got both of my kids Escapes.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm 63, and the 2014 XLT is my 5th Explorer. All have been XLTs and my 2004 was the best of the bunch. Too early to tell how the 2014 behaves as it only has 1700 on the clock.

32 years old. 2015 Explorer Sport

28-First Explorer

46, '14 Explorer Sport.

34 years old. 2013 Sport.

I drove several different Fords when I was in HS and college. (Three different Rangers, Probe, Contour, Focus) When I got a real job and could buy a brand new vehicle myself I defected to Chrysler. Drove 3 different Grand Cherokees prior to coming back to Ford with my 2013 Sport. I need an SUV for practical reasons but I also wanted something more fun to drive. I didn't want to drop the cash for an SRT-8 Grand Cherokee so I thought the Exp Sport was the next best thing. There's a couple things I miss about my Jeeps but I love my Explorer and Ford's quality is a big step above Chrysler.

26. 2014 XLT loaded.
2008 XLT loaded.

36. First Explorer (2014 base model). Love it! Been a Eurocar fan most of my life, but fell in love with the Ex.

66 years old, this is my 4th explorer (91, 96, 02 and 2011) I have enjoyed them all.

28 here.