• Register Today It's free!

Airbags did not deploy.

dguinn81

Reaction score
City, State
Knoxville
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Ford Explorer Sport
This is my first time posting and unfortunately I am posting about my 2016 Explorer Sport after a nasty wreck. My airbags did not deploy when I had a collision with a Toyota Tundra and just by looking at it, I thought it would have easily deployed. I was going 10-15 mph making a left turn at the intersection and the other driver was driving around 50 mph when he appeared from no where. He said he was going straight but the tire marks show he was coming from a turn lane. Anyhow, we came close to hitting head on but he was turning and avoided the head on. I walked away with just a bruised knee so I am very thankful and blessed. I am attaching a picture of the damage below. Please let me know your thoughts as to whether the vehicle just crushed in a way that prevented it or if I should be concerned. Someone will look at it in the next couple of days at the body shop still.
20180824_224516.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Holy crap....I would think they should have deployed in this situation based on his speed and the damage. Wow...

That's probably a total, depending on your insurance. Glad you are ok.