• Register Today It's free!

Charging system

Mikealine71

Reaction score
City, State
Somerset Wisconsin
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 mountaineer 5.0 v8
Hi all I have a 99 mountaineer 5.0 v8 I changed alternator but it still isn't charging. I'm going to fully charge battery and check all connectors. Is there anything else I should do or something I could've done wrong? I'm a newbie and use videos to fix any problems I encounter I admit I know little about cars but taking it to a shop isn't an option for me. Also battery is new however it read 9 on multimeter I'm guessing after disconnected a few days it's drained and that could possibly be the issue? Keep in mind I'm a woman that is just learning how to work on vechicle so feel free to explain like I'm a two year old don't assume I have common sense

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

After being disconnected the battery shouldn't drain at that rate, unless it already was at 9 volts.

Charge it to full and measure if it accepts charge properly.

Fully charged automotive batteries should measure at 12.6 volts or above. When the engine is running, this measurement should be 13.7 to 14.7 volts.

Edit: check that all wires are connected properly to alternator and to battery.

Ok thank you I will try to charge battery to correct voltage and recheck connections. I am going to see if I have a light tester to check fusable link I believe it's called? Thanks for response!

There is a large "mega" fuse on the rear of the power distribution box under the hood. Check the fuse to make sure it's good and also remove it to make sure its connections are clean. You can test for voltage at the fuse. It should read around 14.5 volts with the engine running/alternator charging. Also check the fuses on the left side of the dash.