Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. R

A/C Rear Line Leak

I'd be very hesitant to eliminate the A/C from the rear of the vehicle. The Explorer's twin, the new Rover Discovery has had people complaining about insufficient A/C in the rear. Eliminating it completely sounds like a bad idea.
  2. R

Water pump failure leads to dead engine

Here is a good way for folks to get their data into the public: https://www.truedelta.com/ And here is the data for the '11-'15 Explorer. A very limited data set, but it's not good: https://www.truedelta.com/Ford-Explorer/problem-histories-85,2011-2015
  3. R

4WD w/2-speed transfer case vs. AWD and "just let the computer decide"

I'm no expert, far from it, but it seems the question really comes down to the terrain. If you need the ground clearance then the Ford will fail you every time. If are limited because of traction and not the depth of the snow then good tires and an Explorer may get the job done. Mine struggled a...
  4. R

So long, and thanks for the help over the years. Bonus: BMW Comparison Info

Yes, Ford essentially took the design from Land Rover during the period of time that Ford owned Jaguar/Land Rover. That explains the Explorer design as well as many of the current Ford sedan designs. They sold to TaTa in 2008(?)
  5. R

2011 Limited 4x4 Third Row Left Side Won't Stow

Force is not your friend in this case. Don't ask how much it took to break mine....:-( Over the years, my problems were from something stuck under or sitting on the seat, or the metal pivoting bracket which connects to the underside of the seat coming loose. When the underside bracket came...
  6. R

K&N air filter question