• Register Today It's free!

105K Mile Tune-up

#1Aggie

Reaction score
City, State
Houston, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Explorer XLT
I am new to this baord but have a few questions.

I have a '93 XLT and just rolled 105K. After reading several threads, I realize that I am far behind on my maintenance. My '93 has ran great with very little maiantenace. My last tune-up plugs etc was at least 60K ago. However, I do keep all of my fluids changed regularly. I use 10W-30 M1 oil (since new) with AC Ultragurd Oil Filters. I just changed my tranny fluid out and have done it religiously every year.

However, I am starting to experience a few problems. When the car is hot and in city driving, when I accelerate it tries to stall. Heck, it stalled while idling at stoplight.

What kind of maintemance is recommended.

1. Plugs
2. Wires
3. Ox sensors
4. ???

Thanks and sorry for the wide open question, but I realize that it is time do some things to keep it rolling.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I've got a 91 with 160,000 and I have not changed the O2 sensors yet. Its up to if you want to change them, but I wouldn't until the check engine light comes on or something else is wrong.

I havn't had this problem myself, but some guys on here blame the IAC (Idle Air Control) valve for stalling.

Do a search on that it may help you. Whens the last time you changed your diff. fluid? That could'nt hurt either.

Brian

You should probably do these things:

1.Plugs and wires
2.PCV valve
3.Fuel filter
4.Air filter
5.Change all fluids (pending on ones that were recently done)
6. New fan belt
7.Clean IAS(if it is dirty. You can tell because of a humming sound as you accelerate)
8. Run some fuel injector cleaner and carbon deposit cleaner through you gas

:cool: I think that's everything?

Originally posted by Slick Rick