• Register Today It's free!

2001 Explorer Sport maintenance

Ryo

Reaction score
City, State
Levittown PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Ford Explorer Sport
Hi guys newbie here. I just bought a 2001 Explorer Sport with 92k miles for $1800. I don’t see a specific section for 01-03 sports so I’m posting in the sport trac section since I believe they are the most similar. This is my first Explorer and I’m looking for some advice. I don’t have any records for the truck and want to keep it running for a long time. Should I change/flush transmission fluid? Should I flush radiator? Anything else I should do as preventative maintenance? Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The 2-dr and 4-dr Explorer's share most of the same parts and systems. Hence no need for a separate Sport sub-forum.

Change all fluids and filters. Check brakes, ball joints and sway bar end-links & bushings. Check rear metal brake lines for rust.

If you have the 4.0L SOHC engine - Good luck. They notorious for timing chain problems.

BTW - This is the Sport Trac sub-forum. Though many things are the same, some things are very different. If you have a Sport you might do better posting in the regular Explorer forum.

Thanks I’ll probably change all fluids, filters, plugs and wires. The sport and sport trac only came with the 4L so I posted in here thinking they would have the most similarities, the front ends are identical. What happens with the timing chain, is there anything that can done to prevent a problem? Thanks

The Sport, Sport Trac and the 4-door Explorers all use the same basic front suspension parts, all three models were available with the SOHC V6 (which would have had the same weaker 5R55 transmission) but the 4-door could be had with the 5.0L V8 in 2WD or AWD using the more reliable 4R70W trans.