• Register Today It's free!

2014 Explorer Limited - No start

Mobin Akhtar

Reaction score
City, State
Sugar Land, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2014 Explorer Limited
2014 Ex with 88K miles. Limited 3.5L Cyclone with keyless. 2wd. Purchased coupe weeks ago used as-is no warranty from a mom-n-pop dealer for cash - basically no warranty and no recourse. I am not a mechanic but very much hands-on guy with at least 20 years of fixing personal cars experience.

Issues prior to no-start:
either key fob will not work most times. Had to put key in backup slot to start car. Some mornings (after overnight park) remotes will start working miraculously and key-less start also possible. after couple stops will return to same state (no lock/unlock) - key in backup spot to start. Thank God, I have a code for door. Fresh batteries in both FOB's.

Symptoms:
2 days ago went out to drop lunch for daughter - car seemed shaky like gear 2-3 were being hunted. Then reached school and "Service Advance trac" warning came up. Turned ignition off, dropped lunch and could not start the vehicle on return. Tried bnch of things - sometimes at driver-door close, it would honk twice. Couldn't figure out why. Uber'd home to get second FOB, still no start with different FOB - had it towed home on flatbed to diagnose.

things I have tried so far:
1. hit starter with tire tool (not too hard)
2. Jumped with battery booster
3. got second FOB and inserted in backup slot - no joy - no "key not detected", it just does not kick the starter
4. turned car -"On", moved shifter to N. still no start. I will try today with park brake on.
5. Hooked up Autel Maxidiag 908Programmer - looked at live data - nothing in security or BCM to raise any flags. kinda stumped.
Battery originally showed 12.2V , now at 11.8 - I will run a battery tester tool today. Battery is dated 11/16.

I am leaning towards bad starter since no other indications - any ideas fellas?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.