Fordowner

Reaction score
City, State
Oklahoma City
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 XLT
I own a '95 XLT 4 wheel drive that has 106k miles on it-

I am not a great mechanic or anything, but I like to work on things when I can-

I had to replace the transmission at about 88k miles late last year- I bought it from Ford and had it installed - came with a 3 yr warranty

I started noticing a few weeks back that my car was idling rough. The rpms would jump back and forth 500-600 higher while idling, gurgle once in a while and the car would die. I cleaned out the throttle body, still had the problem. I took it by a mechanic who heard a vacuum sound when I turned the car off. I replaced the upper intake manifold gasket and at the same time, cleaned out the injectors and replaced the O rings (top and bottom) on them. My car ran better but still had the rough idle problem. I then unplugged the Idle control air sensor (??) and it get jumping up and down rpm wise. I replaced the Idle control air sensor (??) and the jumping around stopped. However while idling at a stand still once in a while the car will gurgle and die. I put a can of sea foam treatment in the gas tank just now.

1. Any thoughts on what else might be causing my car to gurgle and die occasionally while idling ?

I am also hearing a clunking sound when I am driving 50-65 mph and let off the gas. It does not make the sound every time and sometimes it is louder.

3. What might be causing the clunking sound? I thought maybe my U joints as they have not been replaced. Anything else it could be ?

And lastly, my AC compressor clutch engages all the time - I hate hearing it going on and off all the time- What makes it worse is I have bad hearing and can still hear it-

4. Is it normal for the AC compressor to kick on and off all the time? If not whats the solution?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me.

Art

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.