• Register Today It's free!

92 explorer rear suspension sag

Checkurhead098

Reaction score
City, State
Cleveland
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 XLT
i just bought a mint 92 explorer 4x4 4 door from alabama, and i mean mint. absolutely no rust. atleast not yet, i live in cleveland OH. my truck has 182000 miles on it and everything works and runs great so far. but im just curious about the rear end sag. im sure its just the leaf springs being old and tired, but im a college student and i was barely able to come up with the $1000 i paid for the truck. so im wondering if there are any cheap fixes i could do to lift up the back end a little. i thought about maybe lift shackles if thier even out there but ive heard those just stress the springs more. so any ideas or info i could get would be cool.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi Check, welcome to the site.

I remember reading where other guys have swapped the left and right spring and that leveled things out.

Your best bet is probably a set of full-length add-a-leaf springs.

I like BDS. They have a lifetime warranty.

114202 is the part number for the long add-a-leaf that will fit the Explorer.

That, or give Jeremy a call at Moab Off-Road in Louisville. He can hook you up with some alternatives. 502.962.8141 or www.moab-offroad.net

Jeremy is my kiddo, and he has some great prices on quality parts and work, including custom work.

honestly i was sagging when the shocks were out. i put new shocks on the back and no sag now. and shocks are not to expensive. but personally i like monroe sensa trac.

A fresh set of shocks and an add a leaf popped the rear back up in my Explorer. Pretty cheap fix:thumbsup:

i will look further into everyones suggestions, thanks for all the help!

anybody know if the 2nd gens leafs will bolt right in place on the 1st gens?