A/C Compressor clutch

scottieD

Reaction score
City, State
Richmond, British Columbia
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 LTD
Hi Everyone!
A newbie here with a problem, my problem, well from what I can make out the clutch on the A/C compressor on my 1994 LTD has well and truly siezed up.
What I am wondering is can I un-sieze it, and that would be the end of my problem, or is the fact that it has siezed an indication of a problem with the compressor itself?
I would be most grateful for any advice on this problem!
Thanks.

What does 'seized up' mean here. the compressor runs all the time? Does the system cool at all?

The clutch consist of two pieces, a hub inside a pulley. During normal operation (unengaged) the pulley and belt move freely about the hub. When engaged the hub and the pulley move together.

With the car off, With the car off and the belt removed the pulley should turn freely by hand around the hub, you should also be able to turn the hub with a 10mm wrench within the pulley.. See:

http://www.ryderfleetproducts.com/cgi-bin/ryderfp/technicalbulletins/acClutchfail.jsp

for a fairly good write-up about our compressor.

Other reasons for a constantly engaged compressor may be a faulty pressure switch on the accumulator and overcharging of the system. Generally speaking the rate at which the compressor kicks in and out on a normally functioning system is determined by the outside temperatures, with the hotter it is the longer it stays on.

If the clutch has truly seized, there is a danger that the compressor will seize and break the belt. An option is to go to an auto store and get a belt for your model without the A/C compressor.

Attachments

• clutchcomponents.gif
    clutchcomponents.gif
    11.1 KB · Views: 435