A4LD rebuild breakdown for the first timer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

A4LD rebuild breakdown for the first timer

Josh

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Virginia Beach, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 4 Door Explorer XLT
A4LD rebuild breakdown for the first timer-You can do it!

Well I thought this might be a good referance for those thinking of taking the big plunge into transmission rebuilding. Below is a breakdown of parts, part numbers, tools, and some links. Anybody finding anything wrong with this or things that should be added, please let me know and I will fix it. I did this in hopes of saving the guy some time and money.

My experience
Just to set the record straight, this is my first transmission rebuild so I am no expert on this subject. I do consider myself a decent mechanic and the transmission is the only thing on my truck I haven't touched. I just wanted to share my experience and lessons learned with anyone who is doing a rebuild for the first time. Below is a list of links, tools, parts, part numbers, prices and where I got them. This list is what I did for my rebuild. I was lucky to find a very good used transmission for cheap that just happened to have been rebuilt in 2003. If you go this route, drop the pan and check it for dirt and metal. The pan on my junkyard trans had hardly anything and the fluid was clean and red. If you plan to get your parts online, order as many parts as possible to save on shipping charges. This is just a basic check off/reference for the guy doing it for the first time. I was quite intimidated by the thought of doing this rebuild, but it wasn’t that hard. Pay attention to the details, make sure everything is clean, take your time and it will all work out.

Links – There are many more, these are the ones I used.
- A4LD parts breakdown and part numbers - A good exploded view of the A4LD and parts list