• Register Today It's free!

Amp+Sub+Box combo for a beginner

YamahaDrtRdr

Reaction score
City, State
Fishers, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Limited
Hey guys(and gals), I'm pretty new at this audio stuff. I recently installed a new navi in-dash unit and integrated the factory sub. It worked great...but I'm now looking for a better sub(s) and amplifier. I consider myself a beginner and on a budget. I am looking at buying a package deal for under $300 dollars. While I was at my local Fry's electronics I saw a combo set on sale. http://shop1.outpost.com/product/5162296#detailed
I also found this on ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=270163304654&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=017

Is these a good buy for the money or am I just asking for trouble?

TIA

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Places like sonicelectronics.com and woofersetc.com have some pretty good deals. Look around there first. Ebay is good if you know what to look for. Caraudio.com/forum has a classified section with amazing deals. First thing to do is read read read to find what quality brands are

It is all realitive. What are you looking to get out of it? What I recommend is to go to your local stereo shop and listen, listen, listen. What sounds good is all up to you. When you go listen to new speakers, take a favorite cd with you. This is so you know how the song it suppossed to sound and it is the kind of music that you like. Just because the speaker sales man shows you how great a jazz song can sound does not mean that when you crank up rock cd that it will sound just as good. Once you find out what you like it will be easier to pick out a good deal. Also remember that you will want to upgrade at some point. Trust me on this. Over the years I have built, rebuilt and rebuilt. Because something new and better has come out.