• Register Today It's free!

Changes to stock air intake box

nodnarb

Reaction score
City, State
MT
Year, Model & Trim Level
Explorer 01
Does cutting holes in stock air intake box and adding a K&N airfilter make a difference? Has anyone done it with measurable results?
Does the KKM air filter setup improve mileage? Don't care about the power, need the gas mileage.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I can say without a doubt the K&N filter gave me better gas mileage but more power and responsiveness too. I've got 175k on my 95XLT and clocked around 20mpg tonght. I've been running the K&N for 8 or 9 years. Love it.

I just put in a Purolator paper air filter $9.00 and I am getting 18.6 MPG in mixed driving. I did some research on some of the other filters and yes there seems to be better air flow certainly from the demo I saw. The thing that caught my attention was that they only stop about 80% of the particulate as apposed to 99% for the paper. I could have missed something but that is what stopped me. I also ran into a study done by a heavy equipment company that changed over some of their equipment and they found out during oil analysis that they were experiencing excessive wear on those engines with the high flow filters. I saved the article but it is not on this PC. I can look for it if anyone is interested.

I put a high flow k&n air filter in my 01 sport and i get better accerlation and good gas mileage too.

Cut the front of the airbox off below the level of the filter and install a K&N. Thats what I have and its a great improvement. Sounds better to.

I wrapped some electrical tape around the filter and top of the filter box to hold it in, and was good to go. Bad idea though lol.