dana 44...need help!!!!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

dana 44...need help!!!!!

Ok so I'm a newbie to this whole SAS thing. Ik there are plenty of how to threads. But I just wabted to know if there were any pointers. I found someone with a Dana 44. Waiting on pictures. I won't do the SAS until summer or until I get a daily driver. Until then I want to just find out as much info as I can. And if I have to buy some parts.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Im almost done with my sas. Started with a 44 then realized junkyards dont have many wagoneers. So i couldnt get parts and went with a 30 with 4.10s. If i break **** its getting trussed with chromolly shafts and new gears. Its also going to be running 38.5 inch boggers lol

Read about all the SAS that's been done on this site along with a hundred other sites. Every bit of info is a pointer. Don't forget the B2 thread has a few SAS also other then just the Ex's.
Need to spend hours and hours reading.

Im almost done with my sas. Started with a 44 then realized junkyards dont have many wagoneers. So i couldnt get parts and went with a 30 with 4.10s. If i break **** its getting trussed with chromolly shafts and new gears. Its also going to be running 38.5 inch boggers lol

That's insane!!!! How long have you been working on it?

And I knew abt the explorers. But I never thought of looking at the BII side of things.

Your Dana 30 is not going to hold up to 38.5 tires. I'm running 33s with 4.56 gears and have broken 5 axles over the past 4 years. 4 have been the short side and the last time was the long one. I carry a spare short side with hub whenever I wheel. I also discovered yesterday that my pinion gear has three chipped teeth. If you are going to run the 38s I'd go with at least a 44.