• Register Today It's free!

Exhaust question

imq707s

Reaction score
City, State
Springfield, Missouri
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Mercury Mountaineer
I'm thinking about putting a flowmaster muffler on my 97 5.0 explorer. On the stock exhaust there is a muffler and a round canister further back towards the rear of the vehicle. What is this canister? Should I take it out and install a piece of pipe in it's place when I put the new mufflers on? Do the 70 series Flowmasters sound any good? I want an exhaust that is just a little louder than stock and still gives better performance. Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Flowmaster 50 Series

The round canister behind the muffler is the resonator. I have a Flowmaster 50 series Delta-Flow on it's way from rpmoutlet.com (mailto:george@rpmoutlet.com). I have received differing advice whether to leave the resonator in place or redo the entire piping back to the exhaust tip. The advice I am taking for now is to leave the resonator in place, just slipping the new muffler in place of the old. If it's too quiet or not as powerful I will then replace the piping too. The muffler w/install at your local shop should run around a total of $120. Redo the piping all the way back and the quote jumps to $314 with SS tip! As for the muffler, the 70 series does not come in a Delta-Flow configuration and, in the general opinion of many, is for old ladies. The 40 series is very aggressive. The one that is fairly quiet, with a mild resonance at 1,800 rpm and great performance is the 50 series. It all depends how much resonance you can live with but the performance difference between the 40 and 50 series is said not to be that great, mainly the tone and volume. Hope this helps.

resinator...