Flashing 4x4 lights, no interior lights or windows | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Flashing 4x4 lights, no interior lights or windows

cooldog

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer
Hey, I've been reading the forum for a long time however this is my first post. I started up my truck today and the 4x4 high and lows are flashing every couple minutes, 4x4 doesn't work, interior lights (except dash lights) and power windows dont work.

I have a 2000, I have read many posts about the relays being the problem. I am an electrical engineer so i pulled out every relay (under the hood and the box above the gas petal) and tested them. They all work perfectly and I've check every fuse in the truck.

Im out of ideas on what to do and what to check.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Already answered......

There are many answers here for that issue, but for the sake of getting your question answered, it is probably the 10A fuse located in the fuse panel on the left hand side of the instrument cluster. I believe it is Fuse #10, but I am doing this from memory.

Or possibly the dimmer switch. I've got mine unhooked until I get the get up and go to put the new unit in.

Hey, I've been reading the forum for a long time however this is my first post. I started up my truck today and the 4x4 high and lows are flashing every couple minutes, 4x4 doesn't work, interior lights (except dash lights) and power windows dont work.

I have a 2000, I have read many posts about the relays being the problem. I am an electrical engineer so i pulled out every relay (under the hood and the box above the gas petal) and tested them. They all work perfectly and I've check every fuse in the truck.

Im out of ideas on what to do and what to check.