Front Wheel Bearing Help

93FordEx

Reaction score
City, State
Libby, MT
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Explorer
Hey everyone!

I've been browsing around here for awhile, finally decided to post.

I'm currently majoring in a Bachelor's Degree in automotive technology, so I took some free time today to check out my Explorer and make sure everything was alright for a road trip I'm planning for the weekend.

Bottom line, the inside tread on the front driver tire is completely wiped off, to the point of the steel bands being exposed.

The wheel has play in it, and the Explorer pulls extremely hard to the right. I know the wheel bearing is the culprit, and I had just repacked these about 2,000 miles ago.

Anyways, if the spindle nut just needs a retighten, does driving the Explorer for about 1,500 miles with a loose nut affect the bearing wear? Or if I just tighten it up, will I be okay?

My Main Concern:

If when I dig into it tomorrow and the bearing is in fact damaged, are the inner wheel bearings pressed into the race, or are they simply set loose in there and then followed by the grease seal? Thanks for all your help!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The nside bearing is loose followed by the seal.

Get new bearing and races. Also, get a new spindle nut, and locking washer and cotter pin if your Explorer uses them. Spindle nuts are prevailing torque and should never be re-used. After loosening, the same torque applied again will be a completely different clamping force. New bearings should never be used with old races, and vice versa. Bearings and races wear together. I'd say use rockauto.com, but if you need them right away then go to Napa, they typically have the highest quality parts. More expensive, but worth it.