• Register Today It's free!

Heating Issue

TMD

Reaction score
City, State
Knoxville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Sport Trac XLS
When the colder weather hit we switched the temperature gauge to heat, and our unit continued to blow cold air. I am no mechanic, but I have read through this site enough to know what to include on this post to get the most accurate answer from the real mechanics on here.

Our truck is a '05 Sport Trac XLS with 60,000 miles on it.

With the truck on, I'll turn on the A/C unit and the system blows cold. I can drop the fan speed and the system cooperates. I can switch between all exit points for the airflow with normal results. It is only when I turn the temperature gauge that there is a problem. Instead of turning over to heat, it remains cold.

Our coolant reservoir is where it should be. The truck reaches normal operating temperature within the first few miles and doesn't show that it's overheating. The higher radiator hose is warm to the touch after driving a few miles as well, with both hoses in good condition.

I checked all of the fuses where I could see the inside to verify for a break, with all still operating fine. The larger one's without a view could not be verified visually and without knowing how to check them, and without any schematic, they've gone unchecked.

I'm hoping that covers it all. Every bit of help would be appreciated, as I can not afford to run it to a garage and will need to do this repair on my own.

I'll be on this site indefinitely if anyone has any further questions.

Thanks for the time.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!