Hello :) Should I Buy This? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hello :) Should I Buy This?

Guitarist575

Reaction score
City, State
Summerville, SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
Hello, new member to the forums... I will stay if I wind up buying this :)

I found a 1992 Mazda Navajo for $700 (after some talking down)... There are a few things that kinda worry me though...

The truck has a new engine (8000 miles on it) and a new transmission. It has been converted from automatic transmission to manual.
It's a pretty clean-looking conversion, but I'm no mechanic. I would think such a major conversion couldn't be too healthy.

The transmission makes sort of a "growling" sound that gets higher as you climb RPM's, somewhat like the way some race cars do. The owner says it's from installing an aftermarket transmission.
Once you get to second gear, the truck jerks around the lower RPM's. The owner says it needs a tune-up... New plugs and wires...

I'm on a very tight budget and low income and need something reliable. This seems like a good deal, but so far I don't think it sounds too pretty. Think it's going to break on me?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Boy- it sounds like something is wrong with it- and sounds like someone's wife said "sell that stupid truck befoer it breaks again- let someone else worry about it."

My first impression was "dude- new engine and trans... what's the question... but then I read the issues- I think it's messed up. If you're budgeted and can't deal with the hassle, I'd keep looking. Nobody puts $2,000 plus into a truck and sells it for $700. Something's up.

If the engine only has 8,000 miles on it, it shouldn't NEED a tune up yet. This guy is hiding something.

x3 Run! From a value perspective, turn away. The seller is a relative?

welcome