help me pick a tire, any tire | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

help me pick a tire, any tire

hey guys i'm a student at clemson university and am on a sort of strict budget. i bought a (gulp) set of used 31x10.50 goodyear wrangler at/s to replace my scrawny 235 uniroyals...
My question is...for all-around performance on and off-road, and for reliability and some wear, what would be the best MUD-TERRAIN tire for the money? i've look at the bfg m/t and some baja radials...any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks a lot guys.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you're on a tight budget, the last thing you want to get is a set of M/T tires, your mileage will drop like a rock plus it costs an arm and a leg for a new set.

Good overall for price/wear/traction tires are:

Pirelli Scorpion A/T
Yokohama Geolandar A/T

i've got a little over five hundred to spend on the tires. umm, can you send me a little info on the tires you mentioned. i've never heard of them before. are they agressive. i want performance, but at my early age, i want the looks too. and gas mileage isn't a concern thank god because i have my parent's gas card Dead Link Removed. thanks for your help and interest. patrick stewart

Patrick -

Go to the tirerack link at the bottom of the page and check out the tires. These are aggressive but not nearly as aggressive as the M/T and they are not that expensive compare to the other M/T or even the BFG AT KO.

There have been some discussions and feedbacks from owners who have bought these recently. Do a search for these tires and see for yourself. It's all a matter of preference and what you use the tires primarily for.