How to remove rear driveline??? 2001 Explorer 4x4 SOHC | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to remove rear driveline??? 2001 Explorer 4x4 SOHC

ETHACK

Reaction score
City, State
nv
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 X SOHC 4x4
So I am in the process of replacing the transmission, but I can not seem to break free the rear driveline from the pinion or the transfer case, there is no park, drive, etc, I have hit the bolts with impact and a short 12mm 12 point socket and nothing, I have rear end on the ground, do I need to raise 1 rear tire and maybe brace ratchet on the bolt and turn the wheel, or is there some trick to get those 4 -12 point bolts out. I've sprayed with PB and let sit overnight, I'm really gunshy here because I don't want to strip those heads or worse twist them off. I'm not a mechanic so any help or advice from more experienced is really appreciated. TIA!!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If your trans won’t go into park, I’d probably attack the driveshaft to TC connection first.

As for the rear, there is no special trick. Those bolts have probably never been removed. Standard ‘please don’t break’ steps here. Penetrating oil, heat, alternately tighten and loosen a tiny bit at a time until they break free. Kinda weird that an impact didn’t blast them out. You running a good air gun? With the wheels chocked and both tires on the ground it shouldn’t spin.

For future use, I put antiseize on mine about 150,000mi and 10 years ago. They came right out a couple weeks ago when I went to do my pinion seal.

If your trans won’t go into park, I’d probably attack the driveshaft to TC connection first.