LineX ing my rocker panels and fender flares, replace "dog leg" first? (pic) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

LineX ing my rocker panels and fender flares, replace "dog leg" first? (pic)

I plan to LineX my rockers and fenders. I dont want to Herculine because I have a buddy who runs a LineX shop in my city and he can do it in a grey to match my Limited trim and he sands it all down and will give me a decent price. I think the only place it it more than surface rust is the classic dog leg spot. How hard is that to replace or could I sand it down and patch it since it doesn't have to look great before the LineX goes on. This image isn't of my truck but it the spot I am talking about. If I sand all of my rust I think on each side I will have a hole about under an inch tall and 2-3 inches long where the running boards used to bolt.
Thanks. I want replies quick cause I was supposed to take it in tomorrow and I started playing with the sanding wheel today and noticed this was a lil worse than I wanted.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

oops heres the pic

Attachments

• dogleg.jpg
    dogleg.jpg
    22.4 KB · Views: 6,643

I sanded filled and repainted mine about a year and a half ago and the rust just started to come through again this fall. I'm probably going to replace mine this summer though. If you plan on keeping the truck for a while, I'd just replace them and get it over with because with all the snow and salt it will just come through again after a while.