low pro sub install ideas?

storlied

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Anchorage, Alaska
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 5.0L V8 AWD XLT
I value my cargo space in the back, I go camping a lot.. I'm new to the whole audio thing.. the most I've done is install decks and speakers... never touched an amp or sub before..

I'm trying to decide which would be better, a single 10 or a single 12... and how do I know which amp to get??
I've read 10's can be punchier?.. but the 12 can be louder, and deeper... idk.. still don't know how to relate the amp ratings with the sub.. and if the deck even has much to do with picking of each..

Right now, I've just got a typical DUAL deck, with DUAL speakers wired to the deck. (Someone told me it's not nessisary to wire the speakers to the sub, but it's an option?) The difference in sound won't be worth the work?

That aside, where's the best possible spot to hide an amp at? It needs to be somewhere where it's not gonna get beat up by the seats being put up and down..... and if possible at all... somewhere to hide a sub? (probably wishful thinking, but thought I'd ask anyways..)

Any ideas? Tips? Pictures? (I looked around the sub pic thread..... wayyyyy too far from my 'low profile' idea... lol.. but those are some nice ass systems..)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you want some really good bass, but a "stealth" system with a hidden amp and sub, just go for a setup using the stock amp/sub location.