Mach Stereo Intermittent Subwoofer issue | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Mach Stereo Intermittent Subwoofer issue

Sedare

Reaction score
City, State
Spokane WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 5.0 EB
This is one of the few issues that I have had since I bought this 3 years ago. I was digging thru the forums here, and I found one post about this issue in 2014, but no one followed up on it.

The stereo is decent, 6 disc changer in the armrest hasnt ever worked, but I dont care about that to be honest. The issue I have been observing for these 3 years is how the Subwoofer will turn on and off with no comfirmed cause.

The Subwoofer works under a few conditions, but not a guarantee to work.

Temperature is 25-40F outside. It will stay on for a while, often until I turn the car off, in fact I had it working for 4 hours on a drive to Seattle last year, but not after I parked the car. In the last 3 months when it does turn on it has occasionally turned right back off after 30 seconds, or one time it shut off 5 minutes later. Some parts of the year when it is warm, it will not work for months on end. I have checked the wiring, and I have found no damage, and signal from the deck is stable to the amp, and the wires have no shorts.

When it turned on a while back, I was parked in a parking lot, and I opened the tailgate, and just started hitting the side of the interior panel trying to get it to shut off. Nothing happened. I beat the car everywhere the wire travelled trying to find out where the assumed wireshort was. Nothing at all. I got so pissed off I started kicking the shroud around the stereo, and still nothing changed, the sub stayed on. No I did not break other crap. But it confirmed my wire testing. Everything is fine.

But then it stays off during cold days when it was otherwise working fine the few days before.

So last fall I started to notice an icon on the stereo that shows up when the subwoofer is on.