• Register Today It's free!

Master Cylinder Reservoir?

PCTechman

Reaction score
City, State
Central Islip, New York
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 Explorer 4X4 EB
I am going to replace my master cylinder; how do I take the plastic reservoir off the old unit and do I need to replace any o-rings or seals?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The new master cylinder comes with a new reservoir and tube, you don't need to do anything except unbolt the old reservoir and reattach the new one.

No Reservoir

This is a 91 Ex, the rebuilt unit does not include a reservoir, it must be transferred over from the old unit. Some of the plastic reservoir types just come off with a pry bar and some have a retaining or roll pin. I was asking because I've never done one on an Ex before and didn't want to bust it up by forcing it if there's a pin or something else I need to remove first.

All the first gen's I've seen just have a small screw/bolt holding the reservoir to the firewall, the tube from the reservoir to the master cyl. is just clamped on, shouldn't be much to it, really.

Is the rebuilt master cyl. the same as the one it's replacing? If you buy a new master cyl. from Ford, they have a newer design which solves the air pocket issues of the original, though from my experience, it's a lot harder to push down the clutch pedal with the newer one.