Multiple Electrical Problems - Related? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Multiple Electrical Problems - Related?

pwtsvwt

Reaction score
City, State
Richfield, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 Limited RWD
I just purchased a 96 Limited 5.0 RWD. As I am a firm believer in not re-inventing the wheel, I then Registered on this forum. I was hoping to go a little longer before needing the expertize, experience and wisdom found here, but I was wrong. Hi All ! ! ..... Help, Please ! !

Problems:
a) The right rear door speaker and the woofer were not functioning when I purchased. I knew some troubleshooting would be needed, but after looking over the schematic I found here, I have no idea where to begin (and I'm a Electrical Controls Designer).

b) I had the right front door open last night for around 10 minutes. The dome lights were still on five minutes after closing the door. I pulled the fuse. I put the fuse back in today to 'have a look' and the lights are now acting properly.

c) At one point today, the power windows refused to operate. I cycled the ignition switch and the Window Lock switch and, at some point, the windows started working. Except the right rear door window. It refuses to go down.

Since the right rear door has two problems, I pulled the door panel and did some checking. Window - No voltage at any switch terminations (ignition sw On & windows Not locked). Speaker - A known working speaker would not play when plugged into the harness.

Although I'm not sure what to do next, I cannot help but notice that most of the problems are on the right side. Could there be a major harness connector that needs some attention? Is there a known place where the harness could be wearing to the point of shorting/cutting wires?

Any thoughts / suggestions?

Thanks,
Paul

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.