My rotors are warped, gotta a couple of ??? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

My rotors are warped, gotta a couple of ???

ShadowA2J

Reaction score
City, State
Fort Gratiot, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
'01 Sport, '80 Vette
Alright, found out that my rotors are warped on the front of my 2001 X Sport. What are the best/ cheapest place to buy new rotors? Also, should I replace the brake pads as well? Anything else I should be looking for? I've never done rotors before, but I have someone willing to help, and a Ford service manual to assist me as well.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If they are indeed warped, I'd get some Explorer Express slotted rotors. Shouldn't need new pads though.

its a good idea to change your pads if you change your rotors, especialy if your switching to performance parts. powerslot says new pads are required in the instructions.

i agree. new rotors = new pads too.

What are some signs that may mean my rotors are warped?

The biggest symptom is pulsating and vibration when you brake.

I heard that lots of times when rotors are thought to be warped, it's really another problem like ball joints.

Hartman said:
The biggest symptom is pulsating and vibration when you brake.

I definitely have that :(

u dont have disk breaks(unless u installled them aftermarket)

could be... what leads you to beleive your rotors are warped? lots of things can cuase the same situations as a warped rotor cuases....

however, if replacing the rotors, put new pads.... as noise is normally a result that happens... glazed old pads on new finishes of the rotor...

jared ajlouny said:
u dont have disk breaks(unless u installled them aftermarket)

Yes he does have disks in the front, but not in the rear.

oh yea, i just remembered that after i posted