Newbie here: Spark Plugs, Fluids + P0133 code | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie here: Spark Plugs, Fluids + P0133 code

SubieHo

Reaction score
City, State
Philadelphia
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
Hi there, I'd been reading some of the very helpful info. on this site prior to doing some "routine" maintenance" on my sister's 1996 4.0 XLT with 103K miles on the odometer. She is the original owner of this car.

I replaced all the fluids (coolant, power steering, transfer case, ATF, front & rear differential fluid, brake fluid), fuel filter, pcv valve, air filter, and spark plugs.

With the exception of the air filter, this was the first time that any of these items had ever been replaced. The original PCV valve was really gummed up, causing engine vapors to be pushed back through the vent hose from the oil filler tube into the air intake.

Let me tell ya, the ignition wires were a bear to remove after over 100K miles. The original spark plugs (Motocraft Platinum AWSF-42P) were very worn with approximate gaps of .062 for cylinders 1,2, & 3 and .090 for cylinders 4,5, & 6. Insulator color was normal with no signs of fouling.

Are the gap differences a result of wasted spark ignition?

I also noticed some white corrosion on the connector tips of the old spark plugs from cylinder's 1,2, & 3, almost like the tips were painted white, and found a stored code P0133 for the front O2 sensor on that same side.

Could the corroded plug connections and the CEL code be related?

I cleaned the connection for the 02 sensor and dabbed some dielectric grease on it before hooking everything back up. I also put some on the ignition wire boots to ease future replacement.

After 60 miles of driving the code has not reappeared. If it does, I should probably replace that O2 sensor, right?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.