P90x

wood1

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
North of Edmonton
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 XLT, Cayman Green RIP
Hey guys, anyone else doing P90X? I started working out again back here...

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=237057

So after getting to the point that the Bowflex wasn't doing it for me I started back in the gym. That was OK but I started to see guys doing Crossfit in my gym so I started playing with that. I did find Crossfit a bit too much for my old injuries. The repetitive nature of the extreme exercises was putting too much strain on my shoulder so I began modifying and came up with my own circuit training workouts. I mix it up to keep from injuring my "soft spots".

So, back several months ago my wife wanted to get into something a bit more extreme as she had been doing the treadmill and not getting much of a result. She bought P90X. I thought it was a bit on the girly side but found that you can work as hard as you want to. I strongly suggest you get a heart rate monitor, I can keep my heart rate in my target zone and above occasionally. I have my target range set 10 bpm higher than suggested so it beeps at me above 170 and below 150 to let me know to pick it up. I burn about, get this... 1000 calories in a 60 minute Plyometrics work out. The yoga workout is just plain sick... cardio X is great too. The shoulder workout is too much for my rotator cuff so I stay away from that one. There are about 12 work outs I think...

Yes they are hard to do and you have to ease into it if you haven't been working out. If you need a break you take it, if you need to slow down you do it. If you need to modify the exercise you change it.

Tony Horton is the guy that does these and you can tell that he is trying to appeal to as many people as he can. He no doubt wants to make money... I don't think he's that bad really, he does keep you motivated through the video.